Uncategorized

How to make your very own delicious, satisfying, refreshing, heavenly iced cold brew.

IMG_9476

I’m so excited to share this blog post with everyone! If you know me you know my obsession with coffee. I’ve always worked in coffee shops (up until the past year). I’ve always had access to amazing coffee. Once I left my coffee shop job, I had to figure out how to continue to over caffeinate myself without taking multiple $5.00 trips to the coffee shop a day.

I bought an espresso machine. My boyfriend invested in the most AMAZING automatic coffee grinder I’ve ever seen. I have a french press and anything else a girl could ever need. All except for a cold brew system.

When I worked in coffee shops we always used a toddy system that makes the process simple. You can buy a toddy online but they run around $40.00 and IMO, you can do it at home, just as easy, and all for about a $16 initial investment and then each batch is about $6.00 after that. SO, onto the goods.

You will need:

(Click photo for descriptions)

 Step 1:

First, empty the coffee into the Tupperware container. Some people swear by coarse-ground coffee, but I’ve tried this before and I think coffee ground on auto drip makes a much richer concentration.

IMG_9234

Step 2:

Fill your coffee pot with cold water and slowly pour over your coffee grounds. Do this twice (with two full coffee pots full of water total). Make sure to do this step slowly and get all of the grounds wet. If by the end of this process you can still see some dry grounds that have floated to the top, use a spoon to stir them and get them wet.

IMG_9243

Step 3:

Cover and let sit overnight (or at least 12 hours). I have tried different soak times. I’ve tried 4 hours, 8 hours, 12 hours, and 24. Trust me, 12 is perfect. The waiting step is by far the most difficult.

Quotation-Italian-Proverb-funny-wisdom-love-inspiration-Meetville-Quotes-125417

Step 4:

Yay! Your 12 hours is finally up. I have good news! You’re moments away from a delicious cup of liquid heaven! So, line your metal strainer with some of the cheesecloth. I usually fold the cheesecloth so there are three layers. You want to make sure a good bit of the cloth hangs over the edge of the strainer:

IMG_9456

Step 5:

Use a scoop or small coffee cup to start scooping the grounds/water mixture into the strainer. It will strain quickly at first, and then as more grounds collect in the cheesecloth, it will strain more slowly.

IMG_9457

IMG_9458

About halfway through this process, I dump the grounds out and finish with the same cheesecloth. When I get to the very end of the container, I dump all the remaining grounds into the strainer and let it sit for as long as it takes to get every last drop of iced coffee out. When I’m feeling really impatient, I remove the cheesecloth and squeeze the liquid out by hand.

***I usually toss the cheesecloth after every batch. It’s about $3 for enough cheesecloth to last at least three batches, although I’m sure if you want to rinse and dry it, you can reuse it (as long as you get all the grounds off).

IMG_9460

Step 5:

At this point, you should have about 3/4 of a pitcher full of concentrated iced coffee (if you’re using a gallon pitcher).

IMG_9467

Now is where you can really personalize your recipe and make it at strong or diluted as you want. I’ve found that just topping the pitcher off with water makes the perfect strength for me:

IMG_9468

IMG_9470

Step 6:

Drink up! Enjoy! Have seconds!

Add cream, add sugar, add milk. Add whatever you like. I drink mine with a little vanilla soy milk. Sometimes, when I’m feeling crazy, I’ll add honey. My boyfriend likes it with milk and chocolate syrup. The possibilities are endless.

Standard

Leave a Reply

